Reykjavik Top 5

The Foreign Service is full of bloggers, both spouses like me and employees of the Department of State, that chronicle our crazy, nomadic life. The FS bloggers do a regular round-up of posts and, while I’ve participated, I almost never have written a new entry specifically for them. But I’m a sucker for lists, and because bidding season is underway, I decided to take the bait. This week’s theme: Five pros and cons of your current post. Here goes:

Reykjavik, Iceland

Pros

1. Unbelievably breathtaking vistas—a view of the massive Snæfellsness glacier rising out of the sea, the small fjord outside our front door at high tide when the waves gently lap against the shore, steaming earth rising in tall plumes off a bright red or black mountain. . .

2. A fun, interesting, smart group of mama friends to exercise with, to meet for drinks and a sushi dinner, to soak with in a hot pot, to have over for play dates, to share a coffee or a glass of wine. . .

3. Miles and miles of running/bike trails that snake along the coastline, past the fishing village, beside the sleek modern homes and tin-sided classic homes, through the barren lava fields, beside the family of swans and Arctic terns, and right back to my front door.

4. Mokka, C is for Cookie, City Hall Café, Kex, and all the little coffee shops where I can tuck into a table, get a terrific cappuccino, type away at my computer, and people-watch, while the wind howls outside.

5. Long drape-y shirts cut on the bias, woven ponchos, wool capes, multi-patterned dresses, bright tights, tall boots, and all the other gorgeous and eclectic designs worn by Icelanders and now also worn by me.

CONS

 

1. You can visit the striking Westman Islands, the breath-taking West Fjords, the dramatic waterfalls in the north, the bubbling earth along the active Kafla Volcano. Oh, but actually only during a two-month window in the summer. You shouldn’t travel from November 1- May 1. Too cold, too windy. Bad roads. Not advisable.

2. Stop in at a basic lunch place. Tasty fish and chips for lunch. Delicious. Cost for one: $32

3. Time in air from Reykjavik to NYC, only 4.5 hours! So close. Why then is it so hard to find a ticket for under $1000? And a trip to the west coast, sometimes costs twice that unless you lay over in NY for a day or two.

4. Employment options for non-Icelandic speaking spouse: slim to none.

10am. Full moon. Winter.

5. Morning routine during winter: Wake at 6am with young babes, dress, feed all, pack lunches, drive everyone through snow drifts to work and school. Go to gym, exercise, come home, shower, dress, make coffee, open computer. Look outside: still pitch black with a full moon. Nearly 11am and it feels like it will never get light outside again.

About ericajgreen

Writer/Editor living in Reykjavik, Iceland
This entry was posted in Bucket List, expat, Foreign Service, Iceland, Reykjavik, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Reykjavik Top 5

  1. Ginger says:

    Love it! Thank you for writing your blog. I love reading them…don’t stop.

  2. Dani says:

    My husband has been dreaming of a Reykjavik posting for months now. Love your interesting pros and cons. Do you think you’ve sound such great women to hang out with because of the sort of people who end up in Iceland or because you just got lucky/worked hard to find your niche? Just curious, as we’ve only ever really experienced living in Asia and I wonder if in places like Iceland if it’s easier to break out of the expat crowd and widen the social circle. Thanks for this post, really enjoyed it!

    • ericajgreen says:

      Thanks for your note. I think I worked hard to find my niche–that the people are here but it took some hunting. In the end, my closest friends are through the International School. I think this is true pretty much anywhere. This is a great lifestyle post though. If you can handle winter, it is worth it. I would tell anyone to bid on it.

  3. Angela says:

    Wow, it’s really gorgeous there! I’ve never been but always thought it sounded beautiful. I didn’t realize it was so expensive there! I thought Copenhagen was the most expensive city I’ve been to, but looks like Reykjavick might surpass that! Glad you’re enjoying your tour, though!

  4. Andrea says:

    It looks gorgeous. When we lived in Germany we had friends via the international school who were from Iceland. I definitely want to visit someday, but I don’t know about living there.

  5. Anna says:

    I don’t agree with the expensive lunch post. Have you tried the delicatessen ostursomething on Skolavirstigur (spelled it wrong but I’m sure you know where I mean). You shouldn’t pay more than $14 (I don’t know maybe this is still too expensive by American standards).

Leave a Reply

